Poem: On The Misbaha

Your beads, smooth and strong

Are the steps

That are attached to the Rope of God

Which lead to Him

As each bead

Passes my finger tips

I know I am climbing higher and higher

Each click of the wood

Is the sound of the droplets of sin

Which fall away from my heart

Or could it be the ecstatic clapping

of the soul?

The subtle aroma

Of Agarwood

Which you emanate

Is the aroma of Heaven

I pray I am close

To my ultimate goal

Ā© By Adnan Tariq 05/01/2008

This poem was completed whilst listening to Khalid Belrhouzi’s recitation of Allah’s 99 beautiful and majestic names. The recitation is from his new album Man’ana? It can be bought here.

Buy your misbahas here šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Islam, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poem: On The Misbaha

  1. d says:

    asalaamu alaykum, alhamdulilah thanks for shareing, i liked this poem alot take care

  2. randall says:

    It is a beautiful poem. Reminds me of Rumi. I am curious what the ultimate goal is? is not the journey the destination. I am curious to hear from you. Peace.

    http://absurdistry.wordpress.com

  3. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Adnan,

    Ma sha Allah. I enjoyed this. I could almost smell the agarwood! šŸ™‚

    I liked the image of clicking and falling sin. This made me think of the shape of the beads themselves which remind me of water droplets.

    Abdur Rahman

  4. Farah says:

    As-salaamu Alaikum,

    Adnan, I was doing a search on google for misbaha and came across this poem! It’s wonderful, mashaAllah. Really happy to have stumbled across it like this šŸ™‚
    wasalaam
    Farah

Leave a Reply

